Skip navigation

Special meals

The following special meals are currently available:

Types of mealsDescription
Asian vegetarian

This is a non-strict vegetarian meal that is prepared in an Indian style and may be spicy. This meal is free of meat, poultry, fish and shellfish, and may include dairy products.

Hindu (Indian) vegetarian

Hindu (Indian) meals follow vegetarian guidelines by excluding all meat and seafood, and are spicy in content.

Special note: Hindu (Indian) vegetarian meals are offered as a standard choice on flights to and from India; therefore, it is not necessary to place a special vegetarian meal request for these flights.

Vegan (strict) vegetarian

Vegan meals are available for those customers who exclude from their diets all foods derived from animals, including meat, poultry, fish, shellfish, honey, eggs and dairy products and their byproducts.


This meal is available for children ages 2-12, and includes food offerings that appeal to children. The meals planned for United follow Recommended Dietary Allowances for children.


This meal is available for customers who are gluten-intolerant, and does not contain wheat, barley, rye or oats.


Jain meals are prepared in Indian style and according to Jain customs that prohibit the consumption of animal products and root vegetables.

Jain meals are available only on flights to and from India.


Traditional multi-course Japanese meals, served with steamed rice and Japanese tea, are available for pre-order by customers confirmed in United Global FirstSM or United BusinessFirst® on flights between the continental U.S. or Hawaii and Japan.


Kosher meals are prepared by Kosher caterers under strict Rabbinical supervision and may also incorporate fresh fruit or sealed items, such as individually packaged bagels that meet Kosher laws. Special Kosher for Passover meals are supplied during Passover.

All Kosher meals provided for flights departing the U.S., and flights departing Tel Aviv, Israel, are Glatt Kosher.


These meals exclude all products derived from pigs, such as pork, ham and bacon, and alcohol is not used for preparation. All meat products are prepared in accordance with the Halal method.

How can I request a special meal?

How far in advance must I order my special meal?

On which flights does United offer special meals?

What will I receive?

May I request a special meal when traveling on a partner or codeshare airline?

What about customers with nut allergies?