U.S. territory travel document requirements

Due to the coronavirus, if your driver's license or state-issued ID expired on or after March 1, 2020, and you are unable to renew at your state driver's license agency, you may still use it as acceptable identification at the checkpoint. TSA will accept expired driver's licenses or state-issued ID a year after expiration or 60 days after the duration of the emergency, whichever is longer.

TSA ID requirements are changing on May 7, 2025. Visit the TSA website to learn more about how REAL ID will impact you.

Travelers 18 years of age or older are required to have a valid, current U.S. federal or state-issued photo ID that contains name, date of birth, gender, expiration date and a tamper-resistant feature for travel to or from a U.S. Territory (Guam, Puerto Rico and U.S. Virgin Islands). Expired documents are not accepted. The following IDs are accepted:

  • U.S. passport
  • U.S. passport card
  • DHS Trusted Traveler cards (Global Entry, NEXUS, SENTRI, FAST)
  • U.S. Military ID
  • Permanent Resident Card
  • Border Crossing Card
  • DHS-designated enhanced driver's license
  • Drivers' licenses or other state photo identity cards issued by a Department of Motor Vehicles (or equivalent) that meet REAL ID requirements 
  • A Native American Tribal Photo ID
  • An airline or airport-issued ID (if issued under a TSA-approved security plan)
  • A foreign government-issued passport
  • Canadian provincial driver's license or Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) card
  • Transportation Worker Identification Credential (TWIC)

Non-US/Canadian citizens are not required to carry their passports if they have documents issued by the U.S. government such as Permanent Resident Cards. Those who do not should be carrying their passports while visiting the U.S.

Children under the age of 18 traveling with an adult are not required to show ID at time of check-in.

If you don't present an acceptable ID you may be subject to additional screening. Starting May 7, 2025, you will not be allowed through the security checkpoint if you don’t have a REAL-ID compliant license or one of the other acceptable forms of identification listed above.

Travelers who willfully refuse to provide identification at security checkpoint will be denied access to the secure area of airports.

Beginning May 2017, TSA is conducting a pilot using Credential Authentication Technology (CAT) at the security checkpoint in some U.S. airports. CAT verifies the authenticity of a passenger’s photo ID and validates information from the ID against TSA’s Secure Flight vetting system. TSA will permanently delete the data from the CAT systems within 24 hours of the flight departure time. You can refer to the DHS Privacy Impact Assessment, or for additional information about this pilot, please contact TSA.

Children ages 15-17 traveling alone need one of the following:

  • Driver's license
  • Passport
  • Credit card
  • School ID
  • Company ID
  • Library card
  • Birth certificate
  • Social Security card
  • Organization ID (such as athletic club, etc.)
  • Proof of auto insurance in passenger's name

Children ages 5-14 traveling alone are not required to show ID at time of check-in, however, they are encouraged to carry some form of ID during travel.

Please review our information on children traveling alone.

If not arriving directly from the U.S. or U.S. territory, please review International Travel Document Requirements.