Upgrade Awards

Use your miles to upgrade your seat to a premium cabin.

Upgrade Awards

Award pricing for
Please select a destination region above to view awards upgrade costs.
*Please check here for Premier member co-pay exemptions.
Upgrade amounts are shown as one way unless otherwise noted. Miles are only earned on the original booked class.
Region Definitions: The chart above is for travel between the following regions.

In addition to mileage amounts listed, taxes, fees, additional restrictions, and checked-bag fees may apply. The government may collect additional taxes ranging from zero to USD $200 for travel in an upgraded seat.

Learn more about the different types of awards and upgrades by visiting Upgrade FAQs and Star Alliance Upgrade Awards.

Book your upgrade awardLearn more about PlusPoints

Upgrades are valid only on participating Star Alliance carriers. Upgrades are valid for the next higher class of service; double upgrades are not permitted. On three cabin aircraft, you may upgrade from paid Economy to Business or from paid Business to First. On two cabin aircraft, you may upgrade from paid Economy to Business or First, depending on the service offered by the operating carrier. Star Alliance Upgrade Awards are available on most participating Star Alliance carriers from fares booked in C, D, Y, and B, as well as additional fare classes outlined on the Star Alliance Upgrade Awards page. One award is required for each upgraded segment. Some carriers may impose blackout periods or route restrictions where upgrade awards are not permitted. Wait-listing and airport standby for awards is not permitted. Contact the operating carrier to make changes or cancel. If a segment of your Star Alliance itinerary is canceled, the upgrade request will also be automatically canceled. The maximum number of customers who can be upgraded on a single itinerary for a Star Alliance Upgrade Award is four. Travel using Star Alliance Upgrade Awards is subject to the rules and policies of the operating carrier. Program rules are subject to change. A complete list of participating carriers and Star Alliance Upgrade Award Terms and Conditions are available at united.com.