Skip Navigation LinksHome > MileagePlus program > Earn Miles > Airline partners and global alliances > Airline Partner

How you earn award miles on flights will change on March 1, 2015. Learn more >

Air India is the flag carrier of India, serving 60 domestic and 31 international destinations in 19 countries across Australia, Asia, Europe and North America.  Air India joined the Star Alliance in July 2014.

Earning miles

Earn MileagePlus® miles according to the booking class that you purchase on qualifying Air India flights, as noted in the chart below. You’ll earn miles according to the booking class that you purchase.

To receive mileage credit, present your MileagePlus number when you make reservations and make sure that it appears on your boarding pass at check-in.

The miles you earn on Air India qualify toward MileagePlus Premier® status.


Mileage accrual

(Effective for flights on/after July 11, 2014)

Eligible Air India fare classes MileagePlus Premier qualification1
Class of service Purchased fare class Base miles* Premier qualifying miles Premier qualifying segments
First Class F, A 150% 150% 1
Business C, D, J, Z 125% 125% 1
Full-Fare Economy Y, B, M, H, K, Q, V, W, G 100% 100% 1
Discount Economy L, U, T, S, E 50% 50% 0

All other fare classes do not accrue mileage. United Airlines® and Air India reserve the right to change the eligible fare classes and mileage accrual at any time without notice.

Mileage accrual is subject to the rules of the United MileagePlus program and, as provided therein, mileage will be credited in accordance with the terms and conditions of the MileagePlus Program in effect at the time of travel, not at the time air travel is purchased, booked or reserved, and accordingly miles may not be awarded for some tickets or miles may be awarded in an amount fewer than shown. The award miles accrued on codeshare flights are based on the operating carrier and their equivalent fare class. This could result in differences between the purchased booking class and the booking class flown, which determines the number of base and Premier qualifying miles and Premier qualifying segments earned. MileagePlus award miles earned may vary depending on the Premier status of the customer.

1For information on Premier qualification, including how to earn Premier qualifying dollars (PQD) on partner airlines, please see the Premier Status Qualification Requirements page.

* Premier members earn a minimum of 500 base miles on all purchased fare classes.

Premier benefits

If you’re a MileagePlus Premier member, you’ll be recognized as a Premier member when flying Air India.

Using miles

Star Alliance awards enable you to use your MileagePlus miles for award travel to more than 1,000 destinations worldwide, on any Star Alliance airline.

  • See our award chart to find out how many miles you'll need, depending on class of service and region of travel.
  • You can use miles to fly one-way or roundtrip.

To book award travel on Air India, call the United Customer Contact Center at 1-800-UNITED-1 (1-800-864-8331) within the U.S. and Canada, or view more contact and language options. Please note: Service charges may apply for booking or changing award reservations, depending on ticketing and travel dates and MileagePlus status. Award tickets cannot be issued at the airport.